phpBB 3.1.x: Soft Delete for Boards Upgraded from 3.0.x

phpBB 3.1.x boards now have the ability to allow moderators to soft-delete posts so that they can later review the post and/or decide to restore it. If you upgraded from 3.0.x to 3.1.x instead of just installing a fresh 3.1.x board, you might have noticed that the confirmation message when deleting a post or thread doesn’t mention anything about soft- or hard-deletion. To fix the issue, all you have to do is modify some permissions that appear to be improperly set for the moderator roles in the permissions settings on the board during the upgrade.

The steps to fixing the issue are:

  • Go to your ACP.
  • Click on the Permissions tab.
  • Click on Moderator roles under the Permission Roles category in the left navigation pane.
  • Click the green edit cog icon to the right of the Full Moderator role.
  • Scroll down to the Moderative permissions section of the page.
  • Click on the Misc tab.
  • Change the Can soft delete posts entry from No to Yes.
  • Click Submit.

Anyone who has Global Moderator status on your board will now be able to soft delete posts as opposed to only being able to permanently delete them. The same must be done for any other moderator levels you want to be able to do soft-deletion as well. The Queue Moderator role doesn’t need the ability to perform any deletions – per its role description (only validating and editing posts queued for moderation), but you may decide you want the Standard and Simple moderator roles to only be able to soft-delete, whereas they can only hard-delete posts and topics due to the permissions issue of the upgrade. By default (in a fresh 3.1.x installation), the Standard, Simple and Full moderator roles are supposed to all be able to perform soft- and hard-delete on posts and topics.